Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program

The Housing Choice Voucher Program is a federal program for assisting very low-income families, the elderly and the disabled to afford decent, safe and sanitary housing in the private market.  Since housing assistance is provided on behalf of the family, or individual, participants are able to find their own housing, including singe-family homes, townhouses and apartments.

Applications for the Housing Choice Voucher Program can ONLY be accepted when the wait list is "Open".  When the Enfield Housing Authority opens the wait list, it will be announced on this website, through public notice in the newspaper and at 2-1-1.

To be eligible for participation, an applicant must meet HUD's criteria as well as any permissible additional criteria established by the Enfield Housing Authority:

  • Meet the definition of "family"
  • Be income eligible
  • Be a citizen or non-citizen who has eligible immigration status
  • Pass the screening process


The Enfield Housing Authority does not have a Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Homeownership Program; however, you can visit CHFA for more information.







Latest News

View All Articles